Public
Honored Contributor

Feedback on Threading / Inline Replies

Our community has been granted early access to Threading / Inline replies. Yay! I have feedback on it - at least, on how it looks in my community. Not sure how much is skin-specific vs general.

I don't know where to send this feedback so I'm putting it here. Happy to move to a special Early Access group, if one exists, or email to the appropriate person & delete from here if needed. 

One bit of meta-feedback about the Early Access process... I had to go back and forth with support several times to even get this new feature functional. And I have no knowledge of who to give my feedback to or what is expected to be correct vs buggy in this early access version. So, not the best experience as an Early Access user.

But, I digress. Here are my initial impressions of the Threading / Inline reply feature. This is on our staging site, on a responsive community with a pretty lightweight skin.

(1) Lots of spacing oddities even on a very basic thread page (w/ just one reply). See screenshot

CarolineS_1-1582785857481.png

(2) Not sure if this reaction will be generally shared amongst my fellow community managers, but I am surprised and disappointed that the thread continues to indent after 1 level of indent. This feels very old-school. Seems that the new model (Facebook, Slack, WebEx Teams) is to create just one level deep of "sub-thread". Screenshot. 

CarolineS_3-1582786491922.png

(3) Looks bad on mobile; see screenshot for specifics

CarolineS_4-1582786700030.png

All of my complaints notwithstanding, I'm thrilled that Khoros is working on this!

I hope this feedback is useful.

Cheers!

25 Replies 25
Honored Contributor

Thanks for sharing your detailed feedback in such a visual way. Good to see many items I had flagged to @SohilM already during the EA being validated as problematic.