Public
Honored Contributor

Using SSO (Single Sign on) with SAML assertion with Custom profile attributes and badges

Not sure this will be of much use for many, but hopefully one day it saves someone hours of time and a big headache - This is how you both solve for passing custom profile attributes via SAML into Khoros, as well as how to make badging work with custom profile attributes. .

*Note - I am not an engineer, I have literally no idea what I am doing, but I made it work. If anyone has advice how to better do any of this, please share!

In my situation, we are utilizing OKTA as our IDP, which we want to pass custom profile attributes into Khoros. For example, we award badges in Community as people complete training in our LMS system. As such, when users complete the learning, their OKTA profile is updated to reflect that, and then OKTA passes that completion value into Khoros, which kicks off awarding the specific badge. 

If/when you want to utilize your SSO integration with Khoros to pass over custom profile attributes via the assertion, this is how you do it. How Khoros calls out custom attributes is very literally different each step of the way, so pay attention to each snippet.

Within your SAML Assertion Mapping settings page in the 'Dynamic Assertion Mapping' field -  - /t5/bizapps/page/tab/community%3Aadmin%3Afeatures%3Acommon.feature.samlss%3Asaml-sso-admin-mapping

You want to map it like this

custom_profile.comm_301=testmeow8

1.PNGBadge Logic
If you want to then map custom profile attributes with badge logic you need to use the following (Notice it's different)

custom.custom_profile.comm_301 = 'Toast'

badgesaredifferent.PNG
Does it work?
And then when you want to actually check if it all works, go into the API browser in stage and check with

SELECT c_comm_301 FROM users WHERE id = '47'

Iamnotgod.PNG

Results
Which provides you with the results

{
  "status" : "success",
  "message" : "",
  "http_code" : 200,
  "data" : {