Public

A survey about surveys, really?

Khoros Alumni (Retired)

Screen Shot 2021-06-23 at 10.50.08 AM.png

I love surveys (in fact, I have a pin on my laptop bag that says as much!).  As a market researcher by trade, surveys are - unsurprisingly - one of my most used and most treasured tools for answering business questions, generating insights and getting a read on the health of our business. By my count, my team at Khoros has run at least a dozen surveys in the last 18 months. And I’m not the only team running surveys; our Voice of Customer team pings our customers for NPS feedback, our Support team sends surveys after tickets are resolved, our Product team sends surveys to get feedback on new capabilities… and the list goes on. 

Which is precisely why it felt a little awkward when I suggested we run a (you guessed it) survey to uncover the dark, ugly truth about what people think of surveys and how honest they really are when responding to them. The research industry has been abuzz about survey fatigue for over a decade, so I knew going into this that the feedback would be worrisome.  And I was right. Consider just a few of the following stats: 

• People get a lot of surveys but respond to few: 86% of consumers have received at least one request for survey feedback, but only 7% respond to all of them
  • Survey takers might not always be honest: 23% say they speed through surveys haphazardly just to get the prize, and 35% have been coached by an employee to give a positive rating on a survey they’re about to receive
  • Consumers don’t like your surveys, so they abandon ship mid-way: 57% of consumers have abandoned a survey before finishing, with 73% saying it was too long.