Khoros Community

Highlighted
erginkantar
New Commentator

Why you should invest in your own branded community vs. public communities available in internet

Jump to solution

Hi all,

I am pretty new at Lithium community and I must say I already learned a lot via exploring lots of thoughtful discussions and best practices.

So I am in the process of developing a community strategy and therefore I need a good arguments and story-line to support my strategy.

Within my community strategy documentation, I would like to answer following questions:

- Why you should invest in your own branded community?

The intention here is to provide arguments regarding the added value of branded communities. Imagine, today, there are already very prominent public communities on Internet e.g. stackoverflow, kickstarter, motor-talk, etc. If as a company you have the idea of having a community with a similar objective, why don't you just join those instead of creating an own branded one?

I did some research already and thanks to Lithium Community I have found following arguments:

- "Branded communities have a greater opportunity to create more loyalty and lifetime customer value than through social networks like Facebook or Twitter"

- "Community adds a sense of belonging to a Web site. This can encourage repeat visits and more interest in the site as a whole"

- "„Building own online communities means that you will be in control of the communication and relationship with your customers. Besides that, the data generated by your community will be just yours, and not available to your competitors."

- "If the community is yours, you have control over the direction, look, feel, and even the revenue opportunities"