Public
Khoros Alumni (Retired)

Job seeker tips

Listen, I’m not an expert in job searching so I'm going to guide you to some experts. Indeed helps people find jobs all day, every day, even on weekends and holidays. They have written a great Essential Job Search Guide on how to get yourself set up for success.

Even though I am not an expert, I have found a few jobs in my time. Here's what has worked for me:

• Tailor your resume to the job you want. What does this mean? Refine! You don’t need to list everything you have ever done in a job. Recruiters often look at your resume for 8 seconds. Practice looking at your resume for only 8 seconds. What will people learn about you in that time? Make sure it’s the right stuff.
  • Network. Connect and have virtual coffee with your peers, former managers, people who work at the company you’d be interested in working for. Set up time that’s convenient for them. Make it as easy as possible for them to meet with you. And then send them a thank you note after you meet. 
  • Be bold! I have had coffee with lots of people who have reached out to me through a loose network and I appreciate the boldness. It shows me the people are willing to work for what they want. 

What has worked for you? Please share your best practices.

3 Replies 3
Executive

+1 on the Tailor your resume

But go further and make sure you tailor it to the actual job description. 

It's very obvious when someone has, or hasn't, tried to match their resume to the job description. So many people create a resume once and then spam it out to lots of companies. It's very obvious. 

Remember, most initial screenings of a resume are done by HR, who may not know the role as well as the hiring manager. If your resume doesn't tick enough boxes in the job description then you're out, and the hiring manager will never know you applied.