Public
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Not applicable

Moderator rights on community level vs. category level

Hi all. Sorry if this is a silly question, but I am new to Lithium and how roles and permissions work here. 

The challenge: Create a private category with limited membership and allow moderators to manage membership (adding and removing users).

I successfully created the private category and populated it with the needed boards. I also have the access roles set up correctly. Where I am stuck is my moderator role. 

At the community level, I have these permissions for the moderator role:community-level.jpg

However, I only have these permission at the category-level:category-level.jpg

Both roles are named the same, per the documentation: https://community.lithium.com/t5/Roles-and-permissions/Create-a-category-moderator-role/ta-p/108789 

However, the end result I am experiencing is that the moderators for this private category can't manage users, which is an issue since this is a worldwide team with hundreds of members. I can't be the only person who can add or remove users for this private space. 

Any idea what I am doing wrong??? 

6 Replies 6
Honored Contributor

Hi @Inactive User -

You should also grant the "manage roles in user profiles" permission. This will allow your moderators to grant roles directly from a user's profile, rather than needing to access the admin console. Also, you may end up needing to set the permissions to "allow grant" rather than "grant" to ensure that this moderator role can grant the proper roles.

----------------------------------

Lili McDonald
Senior Community Manager @ Udemy
Connect on LinkedIn
Highlighted
Not applicable

Thanks, @lilim! I will make that adjustment and see if that works. 

Highlighted
Not applicable