cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

How do I hide a Group

Good day everyone,

I am doing some clean-up and would like to hide some Groups that are no longer active but would like to hold on to the content. I have found this article: Archive a Group, but is there no easy way to move or hide it?

Has anyone ever tried: Community Admin > Community Structure > Select the Group and Move > Choose a private moderation board?

Or

Community Admin > Community Structure > Select the Group and Edit Properties > Hide from lists and menus?

Thanks for your help and suggestions.
Cheers,
Toby

Community Manager - Seismic Software
6 Replies 6
Highlighted
Khoros Staff

Hi Toby,

 

It depends what you are looking to achieve with the move. If it's a public group, hiding from lists and menus will not make the group private. The group and it's content will still be searchable. Whoever has the direct URL will also be able to access it as well but it will simply not show up in any navigation menus, lists or components that you have in your community. If you make the group private, the group and its content will only be accessible to those who have access to that private area. Hope this helps!

------------------------------------------------------
Dany Simionescu | Community & Experiences Product Coach
Click HERE to learn More about Product Coaching
Sign up for coaching sessions with a product expert:
Khoros Community platform HERE or Khoros Marketing Experiences HERE

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Hi Toby,

Yes, it is unfortunately a very manual process. We typically:

- Remove all of the users from the group

- Add a default community account as the GroupAdmin

- Move the group to a private node

Our closed groups are already hidden from lists/menus.

We did create an internal tool to script this entire process as we had a very large audit of hundreds of groups.

----------------------------------

Lili McDonald
Senior Community Manager @ Udemy
Connect on LinkedIn
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Thanks @lilim - ah yes, always manual grr

Community Manager - Seismic Software
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Hi @DanyS - appreciate the answer.
What about moving the Group to a private board that only Admins can see?

Community Manager - Seismic Software
Highlighted
Honored Contributor


@DanyS wrote:

It depends what you are looking to achieve with the move. If it's a public group, hiding from lists and menus will not make the group private. The group and it's content will still be searchable.


I'd also like to add to this - that even if the user group is closed, and you hide it from lists/menus, the user group name is still searchable in the community search and Google search, etc.

We actually had to create a custom page quilt to apply to closed user groups so they couldn't be crawled by Google or our website.

This isn't a concern if your user group is in a private, role-based node though.

----------------------------------

Lili McDonald
Senior Community Manager @ Udemy
Connect on LinkedIn
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Thanks @lilim - I am going to move them to a private area only Admins can access.

Community Manager - Seismic Software