cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Retired User Rank

I am creating a "Retired" rank for users within our community who are no longer with the company, but whose content shouldn't be removed.

Can anyone advise on what rank position this should have? Should it be in position 1?

Thanks!

8 Replies 8
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Hi @Nava_Schneider,

Are you assigning a role to all such users who are no longer with the company? I think the rank position doesn't matter as long as it is tied to a role. 

Thanks,
Srujana.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Hi @Nava_Schneider: As you are going to assign "Reteried" rank to all the required users manually and  assuming you are not adding any formulas. I think you can place this rank at the last position.

Hope it will work 🙂

If my post is helpful and answers your question, please give "Kudos" and "Accept it as a Solution."


Thanks & Regards,
Abhishek Illindra

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Hi! 

When I did this, I made it rank position #1 so that trumps all other ranks - that way, I don't have to remove the other roles from the user & they'll still display the "Alumni" rank / icon. Though, now that I'm thinking about it, my reporting would be more accurate if I removed the "Employee" role when granting people "Alumni" - if I did that, it wouldn't matter where in the rank ladder it was, I don't think.

Cheers!

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

I assign former employees a role first - and that grants the retired rank (which is #1 in our ranking list) which removes all other employee roles for that user.

----------------------------------

Lili McDonald
Senior Community Manager @ Udemy
Connect on LinkedIn
Highlighted

Thanks @lilim!

Did you find a way to automatically remove all other roles from the user, or did you have to enter each manually when creating the rank?

It would be cool if there was a "remove all" options, or something like that. 🙂

Highlighted

No, unfortunately I had to type in all of the applicable roles into the "remove" field for the rank.

It would be great to have an option to remove all roles in this context. Feel free to submit an idea to Product Ideas! Cat Happy

----------------------------------

Lili McDonald
Senior Community Manager @ Udemy
Connect on LinkedIn
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

For employees transitioned to the alumni role, does all their draft content get deleted?

Thanks, Bob.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor


@BobF wrote:

For employees transitioned to the alumni role, does all their draft content get deleted?


Hi @BobF -

In our case, all we do is change the role. Nothing else about the account changes (but the user also can't log in because we use SSO and their employee-SSO account gets shut off when they leave the company). So, no, the draft content doesn't get deleted.

Cheers!