Forum Discussion

dsharma
Adept
2 years ago

How to create API accessible user account with Community

I am new to Khoros platform and want to crawl data from community. For that I did signup process with one lithium community and got my username and password. 

I am trying to authenticate myself with via retrieve-the-session-key but api response says 

curl --location --request \
    POST 'https://community.alteryx.com/restapi/vc/authentication/sessions/login' \
    --form 'user.login=dshrm' \
    --form 'user.password=****'
<response status="error">
  <error code="302">
    <message>
      User authentication failed.
    </message>
  </error>
</response>

I am trying to get user details via LiQl basic query `select * from users limit 1`

What exactly process do I need to follow to authenticate myself ?

• Disclaimer: I am not an engineer

Are you using restadmin instead of rest?  This seems to always trick up engineers on their first attempt using Khoros.  (You want to use restadmin!)

edit: Our engineer says I am probably wrong, so, you should probably ignore my advice ðŸ¤£

dsharma
      Adept

No, I am not using restadmin. I just followed the mentioned steps in the Question.

dsharma
      Adept

Hi MohammedSh , thanks for taking time. 

I tried with sso as well, still not able to authenticate

curl --location --request \                                                                                             
          POST 'https://community.alteryx.com/restapi/vc/authentication/sessions/login' \
          --form 'user.login=dshrm' \
          --form 'user.password=*****' \
          --form 'sso.authentication_token=66231595-191e-4353-9e9e-e5906dbf7f0e'

I tried with removing password field , removing user.login but nothing worked. 
      Here sso token used in the valid generated UUID. 
      Is token something different to be used here or can be used anything to uniquely identifies?