Forum Discussion

Natkinson
Genius
3 years ago

Events Add to Calendar Button: How We Built It

Before we get into this, a couple disclaimers: I'm self-taught and a one-man-band on our team for Khoros dev. I'm still learning best practices and Khoros dev in general, so if something is done poorly or wrong, please let me know and I'll fix it and update this post. Also, I'm sharing this with no guarantees that it'll make all your dreams come true or work the way you're hoping. I'm not responsible for broken communities (or broken dreams). And finally, this depends on the amazing open source https://github.com/add2cal/add-to-calendar-button project, which I have no affiliation with and can make no guarantees about. It's working for us but might not meet the requirements of your project/community.

Now, on to the good stuff!

We're always looking for ways to promote our live events/webinars and improve the community event experience. One thing we've heard a lot is that ICS files are not a great experience and some of our users have no idea what to do with them. After scouring the internets for solutions, I stumbled across the afore-mentioned Add to Calendar Button open source project. Perfect! I stuck a bit of FreeMarker code into it and here we go, a huge upgrade to the Add to Calendar functionality in Events boards.

Check out the Github repository for full details on customization, but there's a lot you can do with this tool. I'll walk you through my basic code (again, I'm a n00b, so please forgive any inefficiencies or bad practices)

The first bit, we need to load the custom CSS and JS needed to make the button work and look nice. I've downloaded these and put them in our assets folder as I was having issues getting the CDN to work properly. Load them however works best for you. Putting them in assets also let me customize the CSS and swap out a few icons.